My Fascination with the Banyon Tree

me and the banyon treeFrom the first time I saw this tree, I was in love with it. I do not know why, it was just beautiful. I later came to understand that it does not exist in America, therefore I had never seen it before. The Indian Banyon Tree, as it is named,  has an extremely long life life cycle, and it is revered as it is the national tree of India.  It offers cool shade to travelers, figs to birds,  and it is actually worshipped.  The largest tree in the world is in fact, an Indian Banyon tree.

At one point we passed a tree with string wrapped around it.  I asked my host about it and he stated that there is a yearly festival to honor the tree and the woman pray around the banyon tree for their marriages or the marriages of acquaintances or family members.  They wrap string around the tree as a gesture symbolic for the marriages they pray for.  The prayer is that the marriages last long similar to the banyon tree’s life cycle.  We could use a couple of banyon trees in America, no?

Of coure I had to get a piece if the hanging thingies (for lack of the actual name) for my bathroom collection of natural artifacts but I was hesitant (maybe I would be thrashed!). I was finally able to sneak a piece as we walked the isolated road at the ellora caves. My only witness was Mr. Shaker, our yoga instructor and friend, who was sworn to secrecy…shhhhhhhhhhh

the Indian Banyon tree with accompanying string wrapped around for marriage longevity

marriage longevity of the banyon tree